Every year at the GEHA annual education conference, we recognize outstanding individuals by giving the following awards:

Member of the Year
Eligibility and nomination requirements
Nomination Form
Past Award Winners

Rowe Environmental Health Award
The purpose of the Rowe Environmental Health Award is to recognize one undergraduate student majoring in environmental health at the University of Georgia who, in the opinion of the environmental health faculty, shows excellent promise for success in environmental health practice. This award is not based on GPA but a combination of characteristics that lead to success as a professional including but not limited to enthusiasm, interest in public health, integrity, involvement in environmental health organizations, and success in environmental health courses.

Irving Bell Golf Scholarship
The scholarship selection committee (composed of the President of GEHA, the Chairperson of the GEHA Scholarship Committee, and two other GEHA Board Members appointed by the President) will choose the awardee based on academic achievement, financial need, letters of recommendations, statement of why s/he is choosing a career in Environmental Health, and the evaluation of the chosen internship program.

The scholarship will consist of:

  • $1550.00 awarded at the annual UGA Environmental Health awards banquet held at the UGA campus.
  • To be invited and honored at GEHA’s Annual Educational Conference awards banquet. Room and meals for the conference shall be courtesy of GEHA.
  • $100.00 expense money if awardee accepts the invitation to the Annual Education Conference.
  • One year paid membership to GEHA.

 John J. Sheuring Scholarship
This fund was established in 1967 by donations from the Georgia Society of Registered Professional Sanitarians – renamed Georgia Environmental Health Association – and others in memory of John J. Sheuring. The scholarship is awarded to students interested in the study of various aspects of environmental health. The Environmental Health Science Program as it is known today was established by Dr. Sheuring and the late Professor Herb Henderson. This $750.00 award goes to a Junior EHS major and will be paid in August 2002 for the next academic year.

Donor: John J. Sheuring Memorial Fund (Departmental Scholarship)

Lifetime Honorary Member Awards